So you're admitting to committing a crime but want the judge to consider some punishment other than that recommended by the district attorney. If you wanted to get wiped out (get greater punishment than might otherwise be justified) what would you do? (To be clear: DON'T DO ANY OF THIS.)
Oklahoma law provides several ways that law-enforcement can legally search your vehicle.
So you heard that your friend had his charges dropped and you saw on television where a victim contacted the police to drop the charges. What does that mean?
In Oklahoma, generally speaking, if you are being assaulted by another then you have the right to defend yourself. There are a couple of Oklahoma statutes that authorize such defense; one applies to using non-deadly force in defense of yourself and the other applies to using deadly force. Today I'm going to talk about using non-deadly force and how it applies to defending yourself against an accusation that you've committed a crime.
So what happens when a police officer approaches you? Well, sometimes they aren't interested in you and pass on by, a greeting might be nice and all that is called for. But, I would guess that most of the time if the police officer is approaching you they have a reason for it. I mean, if I were a cop, I probably wouldn't ever interact with anybody without a reason given that I have to force interactions with people constantly as part of the job. I'm sure Officer Friendly exists out there somewhere, but I wouldn't count on him being the guy who approaches me for no other obvious reason.
Can you have a firearm? The law regarding possessing firearms is very complicated unless you are a felon, then it is very easy. and generally no you cannot. Following are some of the rules governing possessing firearms for people involved in the criminal justice system.
There are several statutes that prohibit car theft and they are used under different circumstances.
Larceny of a Motor Vehicle. The most obvious one is 21 O.S. §1720 and it reads, in full, as follows:
Childers & Motsinger, P.C. is accepting clients for probation violation cases. Prices can be as low as $300.00 depending on the facts of your case.
If you have been served a warrant for a probation violation then you will be required to have representation.
Call us today and find out how we can help you! 405-601-9393
It is illegal for anybody to bring certain forms of contraband into a jail or prison in Oklahoma.
57 O.S. §21 Provides that persons bringing guns, knives, bombs, or any dangerous instrument, any controlled dangerous substance, any intoxicating beverage or low-point beer, money or financial instruments for anyone other than the inmate or their spouse (including tax returns!) is guilty of a felony and subject to a penalty of from 1 to 5 years in prison.